Wheatland Theatre Company was founded in 2008 as Davenport Theatrical by Drew Kowalkowski, Karen Brewster, and Steve Brewster. We are the only nonprofit producing arts organization serving the 10,000 people, spread out among eight small farm towns, of Lincoln County, Washington.

After nine years of producing plays and musicals in Davenport (and occasionally Harrington), in 2017 we changed our name to Wheatland Theatre Co. to better reflect our mission of serving our entire region. Our 2017-18 season features productions in five different communities: Davenport, Reardan, Wilbur, Odessa, and Spokane.

The cornerstone of our work is our one-of-a-kind Guest Artist Program, which brings professional theatre artists (directors, actors, designers, etc.) from around the country to work alongside and mentor local volunteers on one production each summer. Not only do our audiences benefit from seeing the work of these professional artists right in their community, but our local volunteers get to learn new skills from them as they hone their crafts.


Drew Kowalkowski, Managing Director
Karen Brewster, Artistic Director

Board of directors

Steve Brewster, President
Chis Hoppes, Vice President
Debra Kowalkowski, Secretary
Jessica Righthouse-Smith, Treasurer
Jim Kowalkowski
Linda Patterson
Lisa Prewitt
Leslie Schweiger
Brad Sweet